Appreciating Autumn – Terracotta Days

October, so far, has whizzed by in a flash of academic starts and questionable politics. It has been a month that I feel has gone on without me, has appreciated how busy I am and continued on its merry way of passing days. But now the days are getting shorter, darker and colder, I need to take stock before I hit Halloween without a single fake spider to my name.

Saturday Moments

I managed to take a few minutes today to look around in the daylight, at walls outside of my employment. And here is what I noticed:

  • The skies were striking, a blue of optimism and inspiration
  • The colours of my world had changed around me without me noticing, emeralds to terracottas both branch held and floor littered
  • With the rain of the week cleared, the breeze was gentle and the heat calming
  • The reflections along the canal were some of the most beautiful I had even seen
  • With my daughter by my side, I have love and strength.

Before October Ends…

I am on annual leave next week, five days to spend with the kid on her first high school half term. We have plans for the end of the week but the start is as yet unplanned. And that is okay. Maybe we will chase down some colours, eat cake and laugh. Go to the library, turn old black tights into black widows, and tackle the homework we have listed there is to complete.

Whatever we decide to do, I want to appreciate this autumn. I want to slow down the week and count the blessing of every moment along with the scattered leaves and twirl of the sycamores.

What are your plans for the rest of the month? Do you feel that 2023 is approaching way to fast? Are you enjoying living in a rainbow coloured autumn colour palette?

Love Stacy xx

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑