Homemade – Watercolour Cards

During the dreaded lockdown year of 2020, I got into making things at home. This resulted in my poor friends being presented with sewn birthday gifts that I figured were wonderfully thoughtful but were probably naff without the glow of my own rose tinted glasses. Sorry, not sorry. I was not going to let a gazillion hours watching YouTube tutorials go to waste.

2021, well that was the year of watercolours.

I’m not a bad artist, I’m just far from being a great one. I try though and, like with the sewing, I like to think it is the thought that counts. During the Christmas break I got it into my head that for the next year I would make my own occasion cards, shop bought never really sparking my interest. I dug out my trusty miniature watercolour kit and bought a pack of blank craft cards and envelopes from my local The Works. I loved my first attempt – bit of sky, bit of grass, finished off with a little black ink. The black ink, that is something I found l loved during the lockdowns.

First Card…

Bravely, I gave the first card to my boss. The feedback was positive, definitely a confidence booster to produce some more. My poor friend Laura , I picked her for my next victim!

Second Card…

A new born baby boy needed balloons. And toys. Some more grass and a batch of daisies with their little positive faces. I hope she loves it (it is currently in the hands of Royal Mail as I type – FYI there will definitely be some non-spoiler scheduling to this post).

The decisions I have now are, who will receive the next one and firstly what design am I going to fix on. The balloons were fun to paint, so maybe watch this space.

What ideas do you have? World, inspire me.

Love always, Stacy xx

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑